TV

Emmy Awards 2012 Predictions

It’s that time of year again, folks. Once a year, all the stars from the vast amount of television shows that formulate the TV landscape all gather in a single room and congratulate the winners of some of the most prestigious awards they could hope to achieve. It’s an occasion meant to celebrate and honor the finest the industry has to offer, and they usually do that for the most part. While notable shows are left out of the nominations and people that should have made the roster fail yet again to do so (cough Katey Segal cough), it’s still an evening of entertainment and joy as your preferred nominee wins their category or dismay when they lose.

Throughout this post, I’ll share my thoughts on who/what I expect to win, who/what I hope will win and any general thoughts on the nominees in the category and vice versa. I would love to hear anyone else’s opinions on the categories and how you’ll think they will turn out so don’t forget to use the comment box afterwards!

Also, not all categories will be mentioned here. Only the ones where I have something to discuss will be talked about, mainly the drama categories.

Comedy Series

The nominees:

  • The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
  • Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO)
  • Girls (HBO)
  • Modern Family (ABC)
  • 30 Rock (NBC)
  • Veep (HBO)

Prediction: I’d say probably Modern Family.

Hopes: Commu…oh wait.

Thoughts: The only reason I’ve mentioned this category is because of the highly disappointing lack of Community in the nominations. I have only just caught up on all three seasons of the show recently but season three was more than worthy of being nominated. It’s consistently one of the most creative, innovative and well-written comedies, as evident with episodes such as Pillows and Blankets, Digital Estate Planning, the law and order-themed Basic Lupine Urology and the sublime and almost universally praised Remedial Chaos Theory. There are few other comedies out there that would even attempt episodes such as the above yet Community gets nothing as a result. C’mon Emmy voters, where are you?!

Comedy Actor

The nominees:

  • Jim Parsons (Sheldon Cooper) – The Big Bang Theory
  • Larry David (as himself) – Curb Your Enthusiasm
  • Don Cheadle (Marty Kaan) – House of Lies
  • Louis C.K. (Louie) – Louie
  • Alec Baldwin (Jack Donaghy) – 30 Rock
  • Jon Cryer (Alan Harper) – Two and a Half Men

Prediction:  I have no idea because I watch none of the shows mentioned (I don’t watch comedy that much)

Hopes: I think you guessed it…

Thoughts: Again, my love for Community has me puzzled that Joel McHale wasn’t nominated here. Pretty much all of the cast members on the show put in solid performances and McHale is one of them. This could have/should have been his year.

Supporting Comedy Actor

The nominees:

  • Ed O’Neill (Jay Pritchett) – Modern Family
  • Jesse Tyler Ferguson (Mitchell Pritchett) – Modern Family
  • Ty Burrell (Phil Dunphy) – Modern Family
  • Eric Stonestreet (Cameron Tucker) – Modern Family
  • Max Greenfield (Schmidt) – New Girl
  • Bill Hader (various) – Saturday Night Live

Prediction: Ty Burrell

Hope: Max Greenfield

Thoughts: Firstly, c’mon guys. Four nominees from the same show? Don’t you think that’s a little bit ridiculous? We all know you have a serious infatuation with Modern Family but you didn’t need to make it quite so obvious, especially seeing as none of them really deserve such a placement if I’m honest. I like Modern Family for the most part but there are far better comedies out there to be obsessed with, one of which I’m sure you can guess.

Secondly, I would absolutely love for Max Greenfield to win this category. Most episodes of New Girl can be underwhelming and not as funny as I’d like but Greenfield is a sublime comedic performer that fully deserves to win. But it’ll most likely go to Ty Burrell again and then you’ll see me facepalming the desk repeatedly.

Finally, the lack of Danny Pudi gives me a sad face. He had some excellent moments in season three that should’ve easily given him a nomination but clearly the Emmys have something against the show and his sublime work.

Drama Series

The nominees:

  • Boardwalk Empire (HBO)
  • Breaking Bad (AMC)
  • Downton Abbey (PBS)
  • Game of Thrones (HBO)
  • Homeland (Showtime)
  • Mad Men (AMC)

Prediction: Mad Men. The world might implode if the continuity was broken.

Hopes: Either Breaking Bad or Homeland, even Game of Thrones

Thoughts: This is a difficult category to predict because while there’s a strong chance that Mad Men will scoop the award once again, as they have for many years in a row now, there is some competition there that might break that pattern. Downton Abbey is obviously a favourite of the Emmy voters (as evident by the number of nominations this year) and there is also the fantastic fourth season of Breaking Bad to consider, as well as its return from not being eligible last year. On top of those, there’s strong competition from newbie Homeland. I’d count Game of Thrones as a viable winner but it’s fantasy and therefore I doubt it’ll even come close, and Boardwalk Empire…lol. Regardless, maybe tradition may finally be broken.

I’d love for either Breaking Bad or Homeland to win. BB had a fantastic fourth season that even though it started off slowly, ended with three incredible episodes. Homeland had a very strong and well-received debut season that could potentially cause an upset among the crowd.

However, no Sons of Anarchy yet again makes me want to cry, bang my head against the desk and then cry again from the pain. It had a great and truly compelling, not to mention utterly game-changing, fourth season and for it to be ignored again staggers me. It’s as clear as day that the Emmy voters have something against the show and whatever that is, I hate it with a flaming passion.

Also, no The Good Wife?! Granted, season three may have started off unsteadily but as it progressed, it became especially fantastic, eventually ending on a note of equal quality. This category may contain some good nominees but it sure does have a few missing, too.

Drama Actress

The nominees:

  • Glenn Close (Patty Hewes) – Damages
  • Michelle Dockery (Lady Mary Crawley) – Downton Abbey
  • Julianna Marguiles (Alicia Florrick) – The Good Wife
  • Kathy Bates (Harriet Korn) – Harry’s Law
  • Claire Danes (Carrie Matheson) – Homeland
  • Elisabeth Moss (Peggy Olson) – Mad Men

Prediction: Easily Claire Danes

Hopes: Claire Danes. If she failed by some miracle, I’d have to support Julianna Marguiles.

Thoughts: This is Claire Danes’ category and daren’t no bitch try to take it away from her. Her performance throughout Homeland’s debut season was incredible as she balanced the extremely fragile psychological state of Carrie. When that state broke and Carrie went into a crazed state towards the end of the season, she was simply phenomenal and for that, she has to win this award. If she doesn’t, I will literally be enraged. No other actress in this category even came close to matching her and if ‘The Vest’ is the episode submitted for her, that award’s already hers.

If the above somehow doesn’t happen, my second choice for the gong would have to be Julianna Marguiles. I’ve been a huge fan of hers since starting The Good Wife and rarely does she falter in her performances, even with weaker material. She won last year so there’s a chance she could make it two in a row.

For anybody unaware: I adore Glenn Close. I think she’s utterly incredible in Damages and her absence on screen will be felt now that the show has concluded. While she was good in season four, which was arguably the weakest of the five the show had, I didn’t see anything there honestly worthy of winning the Emmy above others in the category.. Season four was more of a Rose Byrne-centric ride, too. Besides, Glenn Close has already had a good share of Emmy love for Damages and I doubt she’ll get above Claire Danes this year.

Also, no Katey Segal again?! To constantly see her ignored every year, despite putting in performances miles ahead of the majority of the nominees, makes me actually rather angry. Once again, she was sublime in Sons of Anarchy’s fourth season and once again, the Emmy voters turned their nose up at her. I don’t accept it. She should have won an Emmy by now, least of all been nominated. The possibility of the show ending without her having won a single thing is just horrific.

Finally, the lack of Mariska Hargitay is a little surprising. Emmy voters love to repeat themselves like that so to finally not see her nominated is a break from the pattern. I wouldn’t be complaining if she was nominated because she had much, much stronger material to work with in season thirteen but there you go. Not that she would’ve won anyway.

Supporting Drama Actress

The nominees:

  • Anna Gunn (Skylar White) – Breaking Bad
  • Maggie Smith (Violet, Dowager of Countess of Grantham) – Downton Abbey
  • Joanna Frogatt (Anna) – Downton Abbey
  • Archie Panjabi (Kalinda Sharma) – The Good Wife
  • Christine Baranski (Diane Lockhart) – The Good Wife
  • Christina Hendricks (Joan Holloway Harris) – Mad Men

Prediction: I really can’t predict given I don’t watch the shows that 50% of the nominees come from.

Hopes: The Good Wife girls, baby!

Thoughts: Based on what I’ve read from other people, I’d hazard a guess as to say that either Maggie Smith or Christina Hendricks will win the award. Both shows currently reside high on my to-do list so I can’t judge their merit at this point, unfortunately.

Anna Gunn makes a welcome addition to the category for the first time since Breaking Bad began. While she’s a fantastic actress and worthy of finally receiving a nomination, I’d be more inclined to consider her potential victory more probable next year, as her work on this year’s batch of season five episodes was stunning. Still, to see her name in the category makes me very happy indeed.

I am even more happy to see the love given to The Good Wife in this category. Both actresses nominated deserve their placing, especially Archie Panjabi. Then again, she deserves to be nominated every year simply because she’s exquisite. I am also a big fan of Christine Baranski and Diane, so her placement is good to see. While I doubt either have even a remote chance of winning, it’s nice to see The Good Wife recognised in other categories despite undeservedly not making the list for best drama.

Also, continuing with the theme of ‘let’s ignore Sons of Anarchy’ and I would’ve loved to have seen Maggie Siff make the roster this year. She was fantastic in season four but alas, t’is not to be.

Drama Actor

The nominees:

  • Steve Buscemi (Nucky Thompson) – Boardwalk Empire
  • Bryan Cranston (Walter White) – Breaking Bad
  • Michael C. Hall (Dexter Morgan) – Dexter
  • Hugh Bonneville (Robert, Earl of Grantham) – Downton Abbey
  • Damian Lewis (Nicholas Brody) – Homeland
  • Jon Hamm (Don Draper) – Mad Men

Prediction: Do I even need to make one? Alright then – Bryan Cranston.

Hopes: Bryan Cranston. In the minute chance he doesn’t, Damian Lewis.

Thoughts: C’mon, does anybody seriously expect Bryan Cranston not to win? Really? He was ineligible last year so the grand return this year will work in his favour, and he benefits from having put in truly exceptional work in Breaking Bad’s fourth season. Remember that scene in Crawl Space? I don’t know which episode he submitted but there’s a reason that scene stands out and that’s because of how phenomenal Cranston was. As far as I’m concerned, that award already has his name on it. I know he has several of them already but the man gets better and better so he deserves an entire cabinet full as far as I’m concerned.

It’s a shame that Bryan Cranston is such a strong contender for this year because Damian Lewis really deserves to win as well. His performance as a soldier/prisoner of war/terrorist/family man really hit the spot in Homeland and I am confident that I’d punch the air if he won. Perhaps he’ll finally get the chance to win in 2015 when Bryan Cranston is no longer in the running. Until then, I’ll have to settle for Claire Danes getting the Emmy love.

Also, Michael C. Hall? Don’t get me wrong, he’s a good actor and is always a strong point of each season of Dexter, even one as disappointing as season six, but there weren’t any true stand-out moments in season six for him to be placed here in my opinion. He was working with mediocre material and that hurt his chances. Against Cranston, Lewis and maybe one of the others, he stands as much chance of winning as Boardwalk Empire does in the best drama category.

I would have also liked to have seen Charlie Hunnam here, too, though I suppose if Katey Segal can’t get a nomination, he doesn’t stand a chance. He’s gotten much better in Sons of Anarchy since the show began and season four was the pinnacle of his acting prowess, which was once again ignored. Sigh.

Supporting Drama Actor

The nominees:

  • Aaron Paul (Jesse Pinkman) – Breaking Bad
  • Giancarlo Esposito (Gustavo Fring) – Breaking Bad
  • Brendan Coyle (John Bates) – Downton Abbey
  • Jim Carter (Mr. Carson) – Downton Abbey
  • Peter Dinklage (Tyrion Lannister) – Game of Thrones
  • Jared Harris (Lane Pryce) – Mad Men

Prediction: I’d have to go with Aaron Paul or Peter Dinklage

Hopes: Either one of the Breaking Bad boys or Peter Dinklage

Thoughts: Choosing between Aaron Paul and Giancarlo Esposito is just horrible. Both are so, so deserving of the award but if really pushed, I’d have to back Esposito. Gus Fring was one of the most chilling, intense and well-created villains that I’ve seen on television for quite some time and his nomination here is incredibly deserved. I’d still be overjoyed if Aaron Paul won, though.

I would also be thrilled to see Peter Dinklage win for his work on Game of Thrones. That being said, and while he was great in the show’s second season, I think he had stronger and more varied performances in season one. I wouldn’t be unhappy to see the half-man win, however, but the other two are more deserving in my opinion.

As is the case every year, the lack of John Noble is noticeable. Fringe’s fourth season was either up to scratch or it wasn’t depending on who you ask but Noble has been magnificent since the very beginning of the show, and has never once been nominated. He was particularly good in season four as well, making his absence felt even more. But hey, Fringe is a ‘genre show’ so that’s probably why it gets continuously ignored, as do the cast within.

And that wraps up my Emmy predictions for this year. After writing that, I am now even more excited for Sunday’s ceremony and as I keep mentioning, I’d love to interact with other people on Twitter as the event is happening so if you want to follow me, feel free to do so.

I’d also appreciate anybody’s thoughts on the things I’ve discussed above and the nominations in general. I’m sure I can’t be the only one so disappointed by the lack of anything Community or Sons of Anarchy once again, or the travesty of John Noble’s absence for the umpteenth time. Hit the comment box below and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

