A Week in TV / A Week in TV - March 2012

A Week in TV (19th – 25th March 2012)

So, after a brief hiatus, here is another ‘A Week in TV’ post. First things first: I have, at long last, decided to drop Ringer from my viewing schedule and replace it with Grimm, a show I gave unfair disadvantage to last year. Ringer was going nowhere except the deep depths of television ludicrousness. Even the allure of Sarah Michelle Gellar couldn’t attract me to it anymore.

Anyway, this week, I am not going to write about every episode I’ve watched as there are so many and secondly, some of them I don’t care to discuss, such as Castle. It’s not necessarily that they were bad, just not worthy of spending time writing about. Alas, lets get onto it!

The Walking Dead – Beside the Dying Fire

It was finale time on this week’s The Walking Dead, a feat which was surely not going to occur without a giant siege on the farm our survivors have been lodging in for the entire season. As the bowels of hell descended upon them, the group was mauled, split up and cast away from their fortress of solitude, as it were. The deaths that occurred in this episode were not surprising in the least, though I suppose that having just killed off two main characters in the previous weeks, it’s not surprising that they didn’t choose to off another one (unfortunately). Nonetheless, the episode was good to a certain degree, with a tantalizing cliffhanger to keep us on our toes and speculation abound regarding the giant prison complex looming in the distance. Having not read the comics, I have no idea what’s going to happen with this.

One point about this finale. Well, two actually: Firstly, it would seem that the survivors of this show have mastered the ability to pull off headshots regardless of distance or speed of movement, not to mention the fact their guns never seem to need reloading (whatever technique they’ve employed, I’m sure we’d all love to know), and secondly, how is Lori still alive? I cannot express how much I dislike this witch without filling this entire post with negativity. One minute she’s whispering kill orders in Rick’s ear then lambasting him the next. Can we see her disemboweled before we all lose our sanity with this woman?!

In all seriousness: this finale was tense and enjoyable, but with the shocks of the last two weeks, some of the intrigue as to whether anybody would bite the dust was lightened. Still, judging from the cliffhangers presented to us at the end, I’m sure we’ll be in for an exciting third season.

The Good Wife – Gloves Come Off

I honestly don’t think there has been a single week during this season that has truly disappointed me. Sure, there have been slower episodes but even on it’s weakest week, The Good Wife still manages impress with such ferocity. This week saw the return of a certain sly fox, Louis Canning, as well another peek into Diane and her romantic life. I always enjoy how this show effortlessly weaves returning characters in an out of storylines because they do it so fluidly. Also, having episodes with plenty of Diane on screen is something I will gladly accept. I love her character and it’s fun to see her outside of her working environment, playing the field and in this case, having multiple men on tap! It’s a welcome contrast to seeing her inside the courtroom, where she’s powerful and authoritative. It’s been far too long since we’ve seen the other side of her character.

Also this week, we FINALLY got some progress in repairing the fractured friendship between Alicia and Kalinda. Their relationship has been sorely missed since it splintered at the end of season two so I’m overjoyed that they’re finally getting to fixing it. They work so well together and it was a shame to see it fade into the ether. I just hope that the writers don’t decide to be evil with us by having them repair their friendship and then having Kalinda sent to prison for tax evasion. My emotions could not cope with that so don’t it, lest you want to see me crippled.

To conclude this week: Cary. On that desk. Now. Phwoar.

Touch – 1+1=3

It’s finally back. After watching the first episode back in January and immediately wanting more, it was a sight for sore eyes to see Touch back on the schedules this week. Touch is a procedural at heart as each week seems like it will consist of the gifted child giving his father a number or a name for him to seek out and help (sounds a little like Person of Interest, only minus the ass whooping and secret government supercomputer) . It’s fortunate that the core concept of Touch is one that is wonderfully unique. despite the inevitability that it will be boring to some people.

This week focused on the owner of a pawn shop being diagnosed with cancer and contemplating suicide, until our unlikely duo arrive on the scene to help him. One thing, amongst others, that I really enjoy about this show is how the ‘other’ stuff that happens in the episode, such as the woman chasing the dog in the airport, weave into the actual storyline at a moment’s notice. It feels like one giant game of coincidence, which seems to be the intended goal, and not just a pointless set of characters doing nothing worthwhile during each episode.

Also, it stands to reason that Kiefer Sutherland is carrying this show. His performance here, as a mild mannered, adoring, struggling father is a stark contrast to his most well known role as Jack Bauer on 24. He pulls it off with incredible ease. It may have been a little difficult to get used to his character in the first episode, but seeing him on the floor of the shop whilst a robber held a gun to him in this episode made it clear to me. At one point, I would’ve been expecting him to jump up and positively annihilate the guy, but that faded. He’s doing a fine job of playing a completely different role and I commend him for that.

Although, I have to admit, it was strange seeing Bohm and the pawn shop owner’s interactions as the actors playing them have conversed numerous times on 24 in the past. Seriously Jack, don’t you recognise him? Oops, sorry.

Fringe – A Short Story of Love

It’s back, finally, after a month of being away from us. However, I have to admit that this week was slow for me. There wasn’t nearly enough Walter for my liking, the case of the week was suitably bizarre but not wholly interesting and the explanations regarding Peter, the timeline and Olivia were unimpressive to me.

Firstly, the case of the week involved a man attempting to create a ‘love potion’ to use as a method of attack against romantic couples. Bizarre? Absolutely, this is Fringe after all, but compared to some of their previous efforts this season, it felt weak. Regardless, that didn’t seem to be the primary focus of this episode. Instead, that came down to Olivia struggling with her new set of memories and Peter’s pursuing of an Observer capsule that we last saw back in season one. It turns out that Peter has never been in a different timeline at all; He’s been in the same one all this time, albeit changed beyond recognition. I’d like to say this came as a surprise but many people have been theorizing the same thing for months now, so it was just speaking the obvious. Also, the explanation as to why Peter was not erased from existence completely (because he was loved too much, and loved others too much in return) was a bit ‘wishy-washy’ for me. Given the title of the episode, it seems that love was the theme of the week but I didn’t like it being the reason why a certain plot point occurred.

Anyway, despite these issues, I did enjoy the interactions between Olivia and Nina, which I hope will continue for some time, and Peter’s acquirement of Observer technology. Plus, I can’t really explain why but I really loved Scooby Doo being on in the background whilst Walter did his thing. It’s small things like this that sometimes give me such enjoyment and I hope it’s not just me! Otherwise, this week was slower than usual but served up several moments worthy of recognition. It’s just a shame the ratings for this episode were beyond terrible. I can’t see how Fox can justify renewing this show with such poor ratings but we can still hold a glimmer of hope, yes?


To conclude this post, I have to say that we’re now ONE WEEK away from the season two premiere of Game of Thrones and I couldn’t be more excited if I tried. I finished reading A Clash of Kings this week in anticipation and it was absolutely fantastic, so the hype about seeing it depicted on screen has catapulted ten-fold since then. I suppose you could say that knowing what’s going to happen before it does could diminish the impact it has, however. Still, I simply cannot wait for next week and you’re sure to see something from me on this blog about it.

 

Leave a Reply

