Games

I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want (terrible title)

Hey there!

I’ve decided to write a list, on here, of what games I will be buying/receiving. This is more of a checklist for me as I am quite forgetful when it comes to things like this so here goes.

Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

I received Oblivion when I first received an Xbox 360 back in Christmas of 2006. It was, and still is, one of the best, most engrossing, video games that I have ever played. I had never played something so big, so expansive, and it blew me away. The Fallout games have been very good but they haven’t given me the same feeling that Oblivion did. Naturally, when I heard about Skyrim, I was so excited that only Valium could have calmed me down and we are two days away from release! However, I have decided not to get the game on release day and instead wait until Christmas when I shall receive it as a gift. If I didn’t have so many games to play/coming out at this present time, I wouldn’t have hesitated to buy it. This is a game I want to dedicate myself to, as it will be a massive behemoth just like Oblivion, and I won’t be able to do that if I have other things to distract me.

I will write a review of this game but it will obviously be after Christmas!

Assassins Creed: Revelations

Again, this will be a game I receive for Christmas so I don’t think I will write a review of this one. Anyway, both AC2 and Brotherhood were fantastic games so I’m expecting the same level of deep story-telling and addictive, albeit tricky, multiplayer to enjoy over the Christmas period. I know that a new Assassins Creed game has already been announced for 2012, but I hope they leave it for a few years after that as the franchise is in danger of becoming over-worked if they continue with these yearly releases.

Goldeneye 007: Reloaded

I have seen many videos and streams of this game and even though it is just another entry in the crowded field of FPS’, it looks like a fun game to play through over the festive period. It’s not going to break any records or become a worldwide bestseller, but it looks good for what it is. I always wanted to play the Wii-make when it came out so this is my chance to.

Super Mario 3D Land/Mario Kart 7

I got my 3DS back in August and although the Ocarina of Time remake is fantastic (so is Starfox 64 3D but I am still annoyed that I paid the full price for it) but there is no doubt that there is a lack of enticing first-party titles for it. Well, two big ones are right around the corner and they both look fantastic. I will probably buy SM3DL on release day and if so, I will write a review for it, but I am getting MK7 for Christmas so no review for that one (with all these games I will receive at Christmas, It’s a surprise that I don’t have square eyes). From the reviews that I have seen, SM3DL looks like it will make full use of the fantastic 3D features of the handheld so that makes me even more excited for it.

Saints Row: The Third

This game wasn’t even on my radar until a few weeks ago and it will, again, be a christmas gift. I’ve played the first two titles and whilst they weren’t exactly brilliant games, they were a LOT of fun and that is why I want this next entry in the franchise. It looks like an over-the-top marathon of crazy and I love it.

Portal 2/Dead Island

I missed out on buying these games earlier in the year for various reasons but, particularly in the case of Portal 2, I want to finally try them and Christmas is the perfect time to do so. I did initially want Dragon Age 2, as well, but I have heard so many negative things about that game to put me off for life.

So, there is my gaming christmas for this year. I have just realised that even though I am not buying Skyrim this week because of having too many games to play, the exact same thing will happen over Christmas so in effect, nothing will be different. It doesn’t matter to me, though, as I will have more time to spend on them over Christmas rather than what I have at present. It will be hectic; it will be cramped. Most of all, it will be FUN! 🙂

Leave a Reply

